Go Back   Large Scale Forums > Large Scale R/C Forums > HPI Baja


Radio Transmitter Range

Discussion in HPI Baja forum, started by Tippy.

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2009, 09:09 PM   #1
Tippy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3
Trader Feedback: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Radio Transmitter Range

I have HOBAO remote control for my Baja 5b ss. It is 27mhz pistol type transmitter. The maximum range in terms of distance is only 30metres to 50metres. I was told the range would be 250metres. Anyone faced such a problem? what could it be that is restricting the performance?

Tippy is offline   Reply
Old 03-10-2009, 11:36 PM   #2
Timmahh
Bajastafarian Madnes
 
Timmahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,374
Trader Feedback: (6)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 34 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Timmahh
AM or FM radio?
Habao would be part of Jammin so owned by Ofna, so likely a rebaged hitec agressor or similar radio.


on a gas rc, i strongly recommend a 2.4 radio 3 channel radio, with a remote kill switch/failsafe unit.
__________________
I once thought I was wrong, but I was sadly mistaken!
Timmahh is offline   Reply
Old 03-11-2009, 12:27 AM   #3
mooman007uk
Senior Member
 
mooman007uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 875
Trader Feedback: (0)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
yeah the 27mhz get interference from the gassers ignition system...probably why it wont go more than 30m
mooman007uk is offline   Reply
Old 03-12-2009, 05:22 PM   #4
Tippy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3
Trader Feedback: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thank you, oops I forgot to mention it is a AM transmitter
Tippy is offline   Reply
Old 03-12-2009, 06:36 PM   #5
Bigger the Better
LSF Plus Member
 
Bigger the Better's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,738
Trader Feedback: (3)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 40 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Don't use the AM one. You will get bad interference. I would also recommend using the 2.4ghz radios. A little more but way better.
__________________
If I had a million dollars I'd own them all.
Bigger the Better is offline   Reply
Old 03-13-2009, 02:18 AM   #6
dirby
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dothan Al
Posts: 44
Trader Feedback: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
get a futaba 3pm 2.4 gig.
about 190.
this will take care of all your eangr problems.
i got over 1100 feet range with mine.
dirby is offline   Reply
Old 03-13-2009, 04:58 AM   #7
Timmahh
Bajastafarian Madnes
 
Timmahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,374
Trader Feedback: (6)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 34 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Timmahh
ever listen to an am radio during a thunderstorm? thats the same type of interferance your coil and plug will give your am radio system.

2.4 is the smartest way forward as even FM Synths have glitching occasionally.
__________________
I once thought I was wrong, but I was sadly mistaken!
Timmahh is offline   Reply
Old 03-13-2009, 09:41 PM   #8
Trip
Senior Member
 
Trip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,682
Trader Feedback: (3)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Good point Timm... I had a 27 AM that used to flip out whenever a nextel would ring...
Trip is offline   Reply
Old 03-13-2009, 10:51 PM   #9
Bigger the Better
LSF Plus Member
 
Bigger the Better's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,738
Trader Feedback: (3)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 40 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
I can't even imagine what a nextel could do to an AM radio.

Who needs a ringer with nextel just watch your screen and listen to your speekers. Man what's it doing to our heads?
__________________
If I had a million dollars I'd own them all.
Bigger the Better is offline   Reply
Old 03-13-2009, 11:49 PM   #10
Trip
Senior Member
 
Trip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,682
Trader Feedback: (3)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
That's why I switched to a Virgin! lol Oh wait, that didn't come out right
Trip is offline   Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 06:59 PM   #11
MrZ2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Trader Feedback: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
so this may be a dumb question and I am sure once I read the answer I will wish to delete this post but what good is a kill switch once you are out of range? Does it have some sort of heartbeat signal that defaults to off if comms go out?
MrZ2 is offline   Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 10:23 PM   #12
Timmahh
Bajastafarian Madnes
 
Timmahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,374
Trader Feedback: (6)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 34 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Timmahh
the PBkill switch is a good one, when setup with your onboard failsafe on chnl 3, the motor will shut off if you go out of range, lose rx power, lose tx power, ect...
__________________
I once thought I was wrong, but I was sadly mistaken!
Timmahh is offline   Reply
Post Reply

Share This Post


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help!! radio carnage with pick!! kryptonite5b Large Scale RC Electronics 8 09-05-2008 05:02 PM
In the market for a new radio for my MT. cycleoneoff FG Monster Truck / Beetle 13 09-01-2008 12:42 PM
radio set up???? pics please justaf_IREMAN FG Monster Truck / Beetle 2 08-22-2008 10:44 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:04 AM.

Copyright © 2008-2011 LargeScaleForums, All Rights Reserved
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Our Community
Latest Forums Topics
About Large Scale Forums
Need Help?