5ive-T noob questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ninjagaiden

Folks,

I've been building and running electric RC cars for 30 years now, and I just branched out and got the 5ive-T as my first gas model. I maidened it at the weekend and was really impressed with how well mannered it was - even my 5 year old son could drive it. Coming from leccys the noise and smoke gives it a real visceral feel compared to sanitised brushless systems!

Anyhow, I have two simple but related questions.

Firstly, Is it okay to leave the battery connected whilst transporting the vehicle? I find it easier to fit battery with the body off. If I can fuel and fit battery at home and then sling in the car, I can pull start with the body on.

Secondly, does the engine need battery power for starting and running? I know absolutely nothing about 2 stroke engines, and can't work out if the engine has a battery connection running underneath.

Many thanks

N

Folks,

I've been building and running electric RC cars for 30 years now, and I just branched out and got the 5ive-T as my first gas model. I maidened it at the weekend and was really impressed with how well mannered it was - even my 5 year old son could drive it. Coming from leccys the noise and smoke gives it a real visceral feel compared to sanitised brushless systems!

Anyhow, I have two simple but related questions.

Firstly, Is it okay to leave the battery connected whilst transporting the vehicle? I find it easier to fit battery with the body off. If I can fuel and fit battery at home and then sling in the car, I can pull start with the body on.

Secondly, does the engine need battery power for starting and running? I know absolutely nothing about 2 stroke engines, and can't work out if the engine has a battery connection running underneath.

Many thanks

N

Hi there.