Air Filter cleaning

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gemm

Hi guys,

Great forum. I am from the UK in Brighton. I have just bought a used Fg MT. I am new to the hobby and just has a question on how to clean the air filter. I have a standard filter and also wanted to know if it's worth an ugrade.

yes its worth an upgrade. I would recommend you purchase these few items to keep your air/motor clean, and enjoy a long running motor.

HPI Baja Air Filter set (30.00 for the housing, and filters)
TGN RedNecd dual stage air filter (10.00)
Outerwares Air filter bag (13.00)

go to your motorcycle or atv store and purchase some BelRey SuperTachy air filter oil.

pour some in a ziplock bag, drop in your air filter. thuroughly work the oil into the filter, remove from ziplock bag, and work the excess oil out with papertowels.

now install the housing and prefilter (the oiled unit you just did) now put the TGN RedNeck on it, but use wheel bearing grease to seal the mating faces of the RedNeck and the filter housing on both sides. then put the Outerwares over that. it ll be a TIGHT FIT, but it will go on.

once setup, this is about as dirt tight a setup as you can get. with regular maintenance to keep the airfilter assembly clean, your motor shouldnt have an early failure from ingesting any dirt thru the airfilter system.

i STRONGLY recommend you do NOT USE the K&N filters, they do not work well at all. you ll likely toast your motor in a few tanks with them installed. they may be ok for onroad, but are the worst if you go offroad.

If it is the stock FG filter you will be ok with it. Use a Redneck over it and oil both. If you want you can wrap the entire set up with a Outerwears for the larger dirt.:)

Cleaning air filter foams is easy, just use dish drops and warm water, you will be amazed how much dirt the filter holds.