Brushless Motor Qustion

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shiny

Hi all
have a few questions about BrushLess Motors (BL):

1) Witch one is a better BL Castle Creation 2028 or Lehner 3080, in quality and power.

2) witch is better Castle Creation Mamba XL 2 or MGM TMM 40063-3 X-SERIES speed controller.

I tried to copear both but Castle Creation don't have data on ther site.
thanks in advance.

This will be for 1/5 off road electric project. What the deference in winding 6, 7, 8 ... Is more the better or vise versa.
I can talk about Internal Combustion Engines for ever, I am no expert thou. But not too savvy when it comes to electric stuff.

Last edited:
HI Shiny,

Both motors will work really well. I personally like the castle stuff. They are a licenced copy of NEU motors out of states. They are really good motors, make terrific horsepower, are reasonably priced and if you have any problems Castle are great to deal with.

Lehner are very good motors as well, but are more expensive.

In terms of the two specific motors the 3080 is a physically a larger motor and so is rated for more power. From memory the 2028 is rater for around 8000W and the 3080 for 10000W

Mainstream brushless use the term KV to denote the windings and is how many RPM per volt the motor will do. In order to pick the correct motor you will need to determine the voltage you want to run. So for a 3080/7 on 12s the motor should do 33300 RPM. You need to decide what voltage you want to run, how fast you want to go, how much you want to spend.

For the speed controllers again both are very good and reliable. Castle is more novice friendly and is a lot smaller than the MGM. However the castle is only rated for 8s. If you want to run more voltage you will need to use the MGM.

In saying that the castle 8s setup is very fast and has proven many times that it can push a baja to 100km/h reliably