Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Large Scale RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Large Scale RC!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Does Anyone Know...

Discussion in 'General Large Scale RC' started by Kwakr, Mar 19, 2007.

  1. Kwakr

    Kwakr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornhill
    I have an Fg tuned exhaust (chrome), and was wondering if anyone knows if a silicone nitro exhaust coupler would withstand the heat from our engines??
    Or any alternative methods of "coupling" the header to the exhaust???
     
  2. cyclops1970

    cyclops1970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    i found the best coupler is from Aviation or plane exhaust couplers .. buy the thick ones .. i bought the thinner ones and they tore ..
    thats about the best advice i can give ya . worth the 5 bucks ..
     
  3. Kwakr

    Kwakr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornhill
    hmmm...good idea!! Thanks for that little tid-bit of advice!!!;)
     
  4. Bigger the Better

    Bigger the Better LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ok, tested and somewhat proven. It works great but still dry cracks the inside alittle after some long time usage but, easy to put on and off for replacement.
    It is available at the auto store made for the catalytic converter and is a 100% silicone type tubing and yes somewhat pricey but it is sold by the inch or foot so not so bad. Here is a photo of my 3pcs FG on the FH.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. SELWA

    SELWA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Milton,On CANADA
    Yes the aviation type works good. You will find it in "blue" at most LHS that carry planes. I still use this on my Samba to give it a tighter seal as well.
     
  6. cyclops1970

    cyclops1970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    yes your the one that gave me the advice once ..
    but my jetpro doesn't need it ,being its one piece
     
  7. Chop Suey

    Chop Suey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hey BtB, looks like you have a plastic servo tray. Does it flex when you brake ?
     
  8. Bigger the Better

    Bigger the Better LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yup, not as much as my MT with front brakes which flexes like mad! Need the upgrade soon for the MT then the firehammer in the future. It's working for both but, I could get better response and torque if it were alloy.:(
     
  9. Chop Suey

    Chop Suey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    OR just a cheap, quick do-it-yourself fix... add 2 more posts on both sides of the tray at the front. Cut a couple of plastic rods about 8mm, drill a couple of starter holes in both ends for M4 screws, drill 2 countersink holes on the chassis, drill 2 clearance holes for M4 on the tray...voila... You'll be surprised how much improvement that would make because with the current set up of only 1 support connection in the front for the tray.
    Just a thought.
     
  10. Bigger the Better

    Bigger the Better LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Good idea.:)
     
  11. leadfoot

    leadfoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelanto ca
    jetpro pipe

    hey BTB I got my jetpro pipe installed but the only problem is that it leaks and yes I did put the gasket in it dosen't leak that bad just leaves that black stuffon the gas tank? what do you think:oops:
     
  12. prefa1

    prefa1 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blue mountains
    silicone can withstand great heat,it is used on industrial and commercial machinery....you shouldnt have too much trouble....
     
  13. Bigger the Better

    Bigger the Better LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Did you reuse the old gasket or use the new one that came with it? They are rather cheap to replace. I went through a few before using a torque wrench when fitting the pipes, ya I know, way over board but I was terrified to strip out the head!:blush:
    Surprisingly I found I was not cranking them down enough to seat tightly.
    Use the figures found here for exhaust bolts - https://www.largescaleforums.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9272&postcount=2
    You may be able to tighten it and work but, usually once they start leaking the gasket fails - Most of the time but not all the time...:)
     
  14. Kwakr

    Kwakr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornhill
    WEll..i did get around to get a slicone exhaust gasket used on planes engines..rc kind..not real;)-as Joe was suggested....but just been sooooo damn busy with work...that the g.f screams if i go out and play too much!! More play=less time with her...and i haven't figured out whcih is the bigger investement yet..her or my truck!!! Hehe...probably her!! BUt shhhhh...
    I did get to run it a few times and it seems to be holding up fine!!
     
  15. leadfoot

    leadfoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelanto ca
    jet pro

    hey BTB again you have been a big help I am like you I terrifed too strip the head But that would give me a good excause too go too a biger motor like a 30cc but your right I plan to buy a new gasket and convert it wiht the right torque and then will see hey do you knowif I go too a biger motor can I use the same pipe I have all the time too do it right I just had back surgery I get too play for a while:devil2:
     
  16. Bigger the Better

    Bigger the Better LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yes.

    I am thinking that way with the stock 23 on the baja if I screw it up worst thing is an upgraded head and piston. Don't tell the wife I said that tho...:no:
     
  17. Timmahh

    Timmahh Bajastafarian Madnes
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    ddm 59.00 Zen 260 top ends on sale atm

    115. gets the race ported G290 top end ( 28.5 cc on the stock 28mm crank, 30.5cc on a 2mm stroked crank)

    BUY BUY BUY> lol
     
  18. Trip

    Trip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,682
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ypsilanti Michigan U.S.
    Does the race porting make much of a difference over stock 28.5 porting? Wondering because I don't want anyone to know what I have done...:ph34r: I have another 28.5 head kit ready to be put in another truck.

    Thanks,
    Trip..
     
  19. Timmahh

    Timmahh Bajastafarian Madnes
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    not having run a 28.5 stock i cant for sure say, but i will say the it deffinaly has a good fast spool up and is damn controllable ( elecs used make a diff here ). i m 95% sure the stocker would have some off the line bog, and be slower to spool and less responsive.

    i would say its well worth the cost of admission from 85 to 115 for the port work for it! i love mine. Great Torque with the 36mm piston/bore ( no replacement for displacement and all that ) and being 28mm stock stroke, i have killer rpms imo.

    but its important to note, the port work done, needs to be done properly or you ll have poor or even less the stock performance results.
    ESP does some Killer work. and hes a Michigander to, so thats a bonus.
    DDMs other builder also does nice work imo ( current topend i have ).

    Not owning/useing/seeing an OBros motor perform except on line, shows their work is also good.

    but for the most part, i recommend Doug at ESP. his work is top notch and hes a very smart cookie, and a Hella Nice indvidual as well as a Michigander. lol
     
  20. leadfoot

    leadfoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelanto ca
    heads

    what head do you all recommend for the stock 23..cc motorand what size is the stock crank I am going too look in too this.besides the pipe is the head a good hop up for the money or should I wait and save the money and buy the 29.cc motor