How long till putting lipo's into storage mode

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rep732

The alchemist ☠️
Community Leader
PLUS member
Build Thread Contributor
So im still new to the lipo rx packs and my question is how long do you guys let a fully charged pack hangout ready to be used sit before you would discharge it to half ?

Good to know sean as its been about that long. The charger i have can do discharge as well and I wasn't sure when to put my battery into storage.. I still have a brand new ex pack that I've never charged yet as I was waiting for something to happen to this one

People didnt understand the tech. They are still able to blow up, but it's not a really a common thing if you keep after them. Shorted cells, and punctures are probably the biggest issue, next would be overcharge / discharge. But again, the overcharge is moot if using a good charger, and your low voltage cut off should be set up to kill the engine before you go below 3volts per cell. I know I sound like a witch speaking in tongues, but honestly in the real world 3 volts per cell is perfectly acceptable cut off voltage. Were overly cautious in rc for some reason. Let the witch hunt begin ?

Just don't let them sit too long, mabe like 2 weeks
Are you on crack? Lipos have one of the longest shelf lifes for retaining charge. Go look at your AA lithium batteries 10 year storage life. Fek I just sent batteries off with my helis I hadn't touched in years and all of them were at 3.3 volts plus. Tossed them on the charger, charges them up to 3.4 volts per sell and sent them on their marry way. You guys act like theres some sort of voodoo magic involved with these things. It's a battery, they power all consumer electronics, they have for years. If they were so unsafe why would they power everything from your cell phone, laptop, tablets, flashlights and whatever other rechargeable device you own?