Impossible to get rid of interferences in my Baja

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dashz

Hey there.
I have been running into this issue for the last 2 months, this is not my first gas car or rc car in general (have had around 3 nitros and 2 gas ones before), so most of the basic troubleshooting has been done already. But this issue is the first time ever.
The car randomly loses signal and then locks into failsafe, ONLY when engine is working and it doesn't LOCK OUT of failsafe until I power cycle the electronics in the car.

Things I have tried:
- Replaced electronics, servos, 3 different types of RX and radio brands ( flysky, Radiolink, even tried a mighty Futaba 7xpr) were installed.
- Replaced spark plug for other one used in a perfectly working 1/5 truck, (NGK cmr7h) also tried other El-cheapo ones.
- Wrapped the ignition coil wire in a metal net and grounded it.
- Replaced ignition coil and wire + plug cap.
- Replaced the tuned pipe for a stock box can exhaust.
- Checked for grounding issues with a multimeter for the rx and servo wires, engine and chasis.
- Disconnected kill switch to discard ignition noise.
- Replaced the 2 servos on the car.

As a side note: This buggy has been working ? for 1.5 years, no serious hits or crashes.

None of that worked and this starts to infuriatingly feel like a curse.
At this point all that is left is to replace the entire engine, pile up another 3 wasted hours + money ;(

Do you guys have any idea? I can’t find anyone else on the internet having this same issue ( and the one I found solved it by changing the spark plug which does nothing for me)
I have a Rovan LT with almost same electronics and engine model, and has never suffered from this.

Update: It seems to happen with more frequency at the moment the engine briefly bogs the last 2 seconds before it dies when running out of gas...

Last edited: