Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Large Scale RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Large Scale RC!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Killer bee kill switch....

Discussion in 'Redcat Racing Rampage' started by Vtx_f, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. Vtx_f

    Vtx_f Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago area
    I recently bought the MT V3 :D and installed a CPI tuned pipe and swapped the electronics. Now to the kill switch, I got the killer bee but i'm not sure how I can make this fit in the receiver/battery box. There in no room! Does anyone have a solution for this issue. I've been online trying to find an additional box the right size that I can add along side the factory one and haven't had any luck...: I appreciate any help!
     
  2. whittron

    whittron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    You could buy a Life battery,they are a bit smaller tghen the hump packs and you can get a decent one for about $20,they last l;onger then the hump packs and will give you more room.
     
  3. cordy

    cordy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    suburbs of chicago
    Go to radioshack ,get a plastic project box(3x2x1)catalog #270-1801. Doublesided tape it to the stock radio box and put your kill switch in there. Done my neutech that way.You will have to drill a small hole in your radio boxes to pass the wire that goes to the reciever.
     
    #3 cordy, Jan 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  4. Vtx_f

    Vtx_f Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Thanks guys, love this site you guys are a great help!!!!
     
  5. Vtx_f

    Vtx_f Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Cordy that worked perfectly!!!!!!!
     
  6. cordy

    cordy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    suburbs of chicago
    Glad I was helpful.
     
  7. rcspeedmart

    rcspeedmart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    1+ on that they are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. first25q

    first25q New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    What radio do I need to use a Killer Bee kill switch. I have the MT and DR. For just playing. Thanks
     
  9. CBirnley

    CBirnley New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Visit their website and it will tell you what receivers they are compatible w, which will give you an idea on radios. Be for-warned, the choices of radios are fairly dated. Killer Bee has done a poor job of updating their technology to work w newer transmitters.
     
  10. Whoduh

    Whoduh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    It will work with almost any radio. This is from their website.
    • The Super Bee is 4 kill switch versions in one. No need for multiple versions for different radios. Just flip the dip switches to change how the Super Bee functions. The Super Bee works with most 2, 3, 4+ channel AM,FM, 2.4ghz radios
    • Compatible with 4 to 9v rx battery (2S LiPo compatible)
    • Adjustable low battery voltage cutoff: Choose from 3, 4, 5, 6v cutoff (great for LiFe or LiPo packs)
    https://www.killerrc.com/collections/kill-switches/products/super-bee-kill-switch-car-kit
     
    WoodiE likes this.
  11. CBirnley

    CBirnley New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Define “work”.

    If you want it to just work like a failsafe and return your controls to neutral then yes, it works w most Rxs.

    If you want it to shut off your motor, as it is advertised, then no it does not work w all Rxs.
     
  12. Relic-1

    Relic-1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I've got the thing installed , still waiting for receiver , I'm working on a vekta , the tiny circuit board , where is everybody putting that , and does this plastic tuff come off the circuit board , haven't figgered that parts out yet ,
     
  13. CBirnley

    CBirnley New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to place the board inside of my battery/receiver tray. As for the plastic, I believe it is to be left on, at least I did.
     
  14. Iceman2733

    Iceman2733 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I fit mine also in the battery box with DDM 7000mah 2s and my futaba rec it was very snug.

    Plastic cover does stay on it
     
    #14 Iceman2733, Apr 17, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 17, 2018