New Rovan Terminator on the way, need upgrade feedback

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Polar_Bus

Hello guys,
Totally new to 1/5 gas. I was a former 1/8 nitro guy way back in the early 2000's but sold almost everything from being a new home owner poor. Jump to presant day and I want back in to "fuel RC" . I decided that with my solid 2S background a 1/5 gas was a great choice. I'm also a CNC machinist by trade so i'm quite good with my hands, I also restore older vintage motorcycles. I'd like some feedback opinions on what would be the best upgrades to enhance reliability as far as chassis strengthening. I have NO desire at this time to pull more power (that comes later after much driving time). Not looking to the most expensive Barney bling, I was a hardcore Savage 25 guy back in the day and learned a LOT of what to mod (upgrade to aluminum), and equally important what to leave alone (keep plastic). I plan on a complete disassembly and "blueprinting" so to speak of the trans and diffs to ensure nice snug tolerances. Any chronic component weaknesses you could share would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance !