New to large scale ,some help please :)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spiros

Hi all

Although i'm not new to rc i'm a complete newbie when it comes to large scale models. I'm thinking of entering racing and need some advise.

A)Should i start with 4wd or 2wd ?
b) Which model , i'm thinking fg leo for 2wd or mcd for 4wd

Just to let you know though that i only raced 2wd alooong time ago so i cannot remember how difficult it was (or not). On the other hand 4wd is abit more expensive and i'm don't want to spend too much money.

Any suggestions ?

Many thanks

Do you have a ball park figure of how much you want to spend, this will give people an idea on what range of cars to suggest? :)

It's more of a matter of if it's worth it pushing my budget to buy a 4wd or get a 2wd model.

Budget wise since i'm in the UK it's not really relevant. For 2wd will not go more than the cost of a Leopard (ie. no elcon or LB) and for 4wd the only option is a MCD.

In that case which would you prefer to drive? Personally I'd probably go 4WD if I was going to race and hence an MCD for the money. :)

Sorry mate i haven't noticed you're from the Uk.

The leo or marder goes around £500 + £200 to run. The MCD is £670 + £200 to run. I know it's not that much of a difference but adding an extra tuned pipe on the mcd i'm pushing my budget quite abit.

The only experience i had with 1/10 2wd buggies was along ago and still remember the overturning even if you sneezed. 4wd is what i race(d) but the point and shoot driving is not much fun to me as well.

What i'm actually asking is if 2wd in 1/5 is as nerve breaking as it was to 1/10 buggies. In that case i might prefer to get skint but get a 4wd instead

Last edited: