Newbie radio suggestion

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spoogity Woogums

I've been running 1/10 scale for a couple of years, and I could do just about any radio and notice minor differences. But now that I have a 20+lb death/severe injury machine, what is the best radio and number of channels? The guy I got my baja from put in a killswitch and is running a 2ch Futaba. I'm eyeballing a couple of spektrum radios with avc and came here for suggestions.
The Futaba he gave me is okay, but the trimming is done with digital switches and I prefer the old knob types.

I have a Spektrum dx4c and really like the telemetry for rx pack voltage, temp Gauge can be handy for tuning. I have been wanting the new dx5r.

I prefer the accuracy of digital trim to the dial trim.

I plan on using the AVC for when I let somebody else try to drive it, and have it shut completely off otherwise. And the reason I have a preference of knobs is digital is usually in tiny increments, but knobs are a super fine tune, or at least it seems that way to me

downside to knobs is inquisitive minds though, I thought my 4 year old nephew screwed up my electronics when I let him drive my old rustler, he just cranked everything up

I'll have to look but my old JR R-1 had trim steps so you could make the digital switch steps finer or courser. Not sure if the 4c or 5r have that setting.

I gave up my Spektrum DX2L with my yeti in the trade for the baja, and it had a throttle range switch (L/M/H) and wish I could have kept it. It's discontinued so I'm on the hunt for something as awesome as it was. Is more than 2 channels necessary?

You don't need more than two channels but it can be helpful on some setups, and in the mid to upper range systems 4 and 5 channels are pretty standard these days.

2 channels will work.

IMO, 3 or more channels would be better....you can dedicate one channel to the killswitch.