Rovan 1/5 5b

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skaterriese45

Hi everyone, I'm new to the 2 stroke rc's but absolutely love it so far. I bought a rovan baja 30.5cc. I was curious why it takes so long to start. I have to pull the cord forever to get it started and usually floods multiple times. I have completed the break in process and have had it professionally tuned. But when I go to start it the next day, it takes so long to start. Already went through 2 pull cords. It has a new ngk plug in it and 93 octane fuel with 25:1 VP 2 stroke oil. Thanks for any help!

are you trying to get it started with the choke on mate?
starting procedure that a lot of us use is,
1, pump carb bulb till fuel starts to flow through return line,
2, choke on and pull slowly till you here a pop, usually a couple of pulls ,
3, choke off and pull, should start within 3 to 5 pulls,
short sharp pulls and don't pull the starter cord all the way out, what i mean is don't yank the feck outa the starter or yer gonna snap the cord or break sommat on the starter,
try the above and see if it gets ya sorted (y)

are you trying to get it started with the choke on mate?
starting procedure that a lot of us use is,
1, pump carb bulb till fuel starts to flow through return line,
2, choke on and pull slowly till you here a pop, usually a couple of pulls ,
3, choke off and pull, should start within 3 to 5 pulls,
short sharp pulls and don't pull the starter cord all the way out, what i mean is don't yank the feck outa the starter or yer gonna snap the cord or break sommat on the starter,
try the above and see if it gets ya sorted (y)
Thanks for the reply! I never get that "pop" like in all the videos I watch. I always prime the bulb first until the bubbles are out of the yellow fuel line, then turn choke on and pull but it never pops :/

when you say you had it professionally tuned after break in,