whats the score with oils

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simon67

I am fairly new to these petrol engines and have heard a lot of magic talk about what oils to mix.
I saw a vid. Of a guy opening his losi 5ive box, taking out the oil and saying "i" won't be needing that, surely losi won't put an oil in with their car, that is going to do damage.
I was using shell advanced 2 stroke engine oil and a fella came up to me and said this is the oil you should be using.
I put plenty of oil in my mixes, a little over the 25:1 recommended, just to be on the safe side and then this bloke tells me, it can damage my engine, now I'm not saying he was wrong but shouldn't there be warnings, like do not use these oils in rc cars, you can only use racing oils or your engine will pack up early.
Can any body clear this up a bit, with facts plz. What oils you can use and if a bit more oil helps.
I also spray a bit of wd 40 in the spk plug hole if I'm not useing it for a while,
Is this ok.cheers simon

Hi Simon, you'll realise that a lot of people on forums just relate what they've read elsewhere no matter what the topic is - 99% is lost in translation or billshirt.
2 stroke oil is one of those subjects thats has a massive cloud of urban myth and billshirt around it. The are all sorts of brand names thrown around including how to mix it, what petrol to use, how long to keep it and what to do if you don't use your car for a while.