Why does my lipo car "stutter"?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

polishdon

See the video for an example. When I hit the throttle the car stutters before it takes off. Doesn't happen all the time and seems to happen more as the batteries get low. It's a Losi DB XL that was converted to lipo, I have a Mamba 2 speed controller, a leopard 4 pole motor and running 2 4s packs.

The vehicle is quite heavy, and will have quite a high requirement of power - this is provided by the batteries to the ESC, to the motor.
Let's say the motor at FULL POWER can pull up to 200A, but the ESC can only provide 180A - you have a 'weak link' in the ESC and will probably damage it.
Let's continue - motor pulls 200A, ESC can provide 250A - then there's no problem there.

If you have a 6Ah battery - doesn't matter in this example if it's 4S, 5S, 8S .. we're looking at power demand.
If the battery is rated at 20C continuous, this means it can supply 20 x 6A = 120A.
This is MUCH LESS than the 200A the motor can require on occasion - normally at start up and at maximum speed - most power demand. LiPo battery will start swelling up - common in under-performing LiPo batteries.

If you have a 6Ah (6000 mAh) battery rated at 50C continuous = 6 x 50 = 300A - then the battery covers, the ESC, which covers the motor - sorted.
You should also install (or set if its part of the ESC) the LOW VOLTAGE CUT-OFF.
Normally this is 3.3 V, but most set it at 3.7 V to allow for droop, or power surge when in use.

IF ALL OF THE ABOVE IS CORRECT, next look at the gearing.
It might simply be over-geared for the power of the battery / ESC / motor combo and they're trying too hard - this is now called COGGING - very common by people trying to get too much speed.
A certain sign of over-gearing is the motor / ESC and sometimes the battery will get warm - motor and ESC VERY HOT - not good.

Hope this helps.
Al.