wiper motor steering servo

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

superchip

Hi I wonder if someone can provide me with some info regarding the item- http://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/simpl...#, I read the description carefully and also looked at the manual regarding this item but my question remains unanswered mainly because I'm totally new to electronics and as a result I don't really understand the jargon. I am trying to build a homemade servo using a windscreen wiper motor to use as a steering system on a large scale car I'm building, I understand this item utilises differential steering but I don't want to do that. All I need is to control the wiper motor just like a standard hobby servo, left, right and auto centre, I have searched all over the Internet and plenty of people have done this but they seem to keep their accomplishment a closely guarded secret, and I can't help thinking I'm missing something as I can't seem to make it work properly because with the electronics I have I get terrible motor jitter when the potentiometer is in the center position so I'm starting to think the driver board I have isn't the right one hence the reason I'm looking at this one. Any info anybody can provide or if anyone knows of a better board to look at I would be very grateful. All the best, John :)

Sound to me like its a vibration issue on you pot used to center you motor
We have it on our servos it won't stay centered it bounces left then right and won't stop it more noticeable with weight off car wheels off the ground
It may not be your board it may be your Raido setting called deadband you may be able to make it wider if it's a digital radio you should be able to