Air intake setup for 5t 2.0

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Farva8688

Hey all.. New to the forum and new owner of a 5t 2.0. Wanting to upgrade the intake and exhaust. I already bought a ddm velocity stack and dt1 dome filter and they hit the cage when installed. So I took them off and went back to stock. What setups are you running for intake that does not require cutting the cage or modifying stuff to get it to work. Pics would be appreciated. And please be specific for your setups.. I'm still learning. Thanks!

I had the same choices for my 5T 2.0 and ended up with a Crazy Stu. Gets way better air flow than the Turtle Racing. At first I did not cut my cage, I just trimmed the Crazy Stu rubber pipe as short as possible on the carb side. Even then the body/cage didn't fit over it that great and getting the body screws in was a pain. I recently cut the "X" from the drivers side cage and now everything fits WAY better. Running a Bartelone pipe.

Negative, all you doing is slowing the air velocity, untill you get to the v stack. The engine will only take in what the carb can flow at a given throttle position. The "big tube" idea is great for wot, the smaller tube that more closely matched the carb will yield higher velocity air that will help improve torque. At any rate you have 2 limiting factors for how much air can get in the engine, carb size and airfilter capacity.(I'm not talking about pumping losses, or how efficient the air can get to the crankcase post carb) Most of us run rather large air filters so that doesn't typically seem to be the limiting factor, so all you have left is the carb itself. Now I will grant that the tr box has 2 90* bends, and that's never good for airflow, but from a volume of air standpoint, they should work equally well for doing the job asked of them. Both are more then capable of out flowing the engines needs.