Crappy advice given......

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reddog

Hi all!

I just tought i share my experience with you.

Couple days ago i called my lhs guy (well about 200 miles from me but he is the only one who sells large scale accesories here in slovakia) and asked him about the quick release tank cap made by lauterbacher.
My question was to him, do i need separate ventilation for this special cap? He saying: No!! because when you primeing, the tank fills up with air throught pumping on the primer before you start the engine.
Well i thought it is a bit strange, does not make sense to me!! Im no scientist, but i know if im drinking something form a plastik bottle, i hawe to let the air get in. Other wise the bottle will change its shape,
and after while the juice stops floating in my mouth. And my lips wil be sucked in the bottle.
So the air has to go in somwhere? Maybe throught the carb? Throught the air filter?( would be to complicated there must be an easyer way ) Than why is that tini little hole on the gas cap ? Has to do something?

So i asked him.
He was also saying, the hole on the gas cap lets air out and not in. Asked him and so if it lets air out why is not letting gas out as well? He mentioned somekind of gore tex material that lets air in or out but not liquids (i know this material because i snowboard and hawe this in my pants and my jacket and it keeps me dry even it lets the jacket to ventilate but wont let liquids to get inside).
Again no sense to me.
It is just not easyer to let the air in the tank than out of the tank (manufacturing and working wise less components less failure possibility and cheaper to produce as well).
So i was still in doubt, wisited the german large scale shops site that we all love (www.rc-***-online.de), searched for the product and in seconds my question was answered.