Deleted

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harold Bascom

View attachment 54656
I've been in rc for the past 40 years and can count the amount of RC-running associates I've had on the fingers of one hand. I guess it all depends on where you happen to live. Enclaves of rc car/truck enthusiasts seem to be found in specific cities and not in others.

My initial foray into rc cars was in Guyana, South America where, generally, RC cars and such was the dominion of children. I've been accosted a few times for being "a grown man who should do something better with his time other than playing with toys!" Lol. I was a lonely rc hobbyist in Guyana, South America.

I them migrated to Hackensack, New Jersey where I made 2 friends who were into rc cars/trucks. I felt some hope and even invested in 6 Tamiya on-road cars to get a few more guys interested. That didn't work out too well, and soon the pair of rc buddies I met got caught up with life and I stopped seeing them. And so, I became a lonely hobbyist in Hackensack, New Jersey.

I'm now living in Loganville, Georgia (for me, the most rc unaware place I've ever been to. Lol) and I continue to play by myself.

Gawwdamn! The rc hobby can be a lonely one if you're in the wrong place!

So, are you luckier than me?

View attachment 54656
I've been in rc for the past 40 years and can count the number of RC-running associates I've had on the fingers of one hand. I guess it all depends on where you happen to live. Enclaves of rc car/truck enthusiasts seem to be found in specific cities and not in others.

My initial foray into rc cars was in Guyana, South America where, generally, RC cars and such was the dominion of children. I've been accosted a few times for being "a grown man who should do something better with his time other than playing with toys!" Lol. I was a lonely rc hobbyist in Guyana, South America.