Engine Types?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Unknown460

Hi peoples, I'm new to this large scale stuff and currently looking around for a second hand FG Marder.
Theres a few i've come across, and with what i've read on forums etc the zenoah engines tend to be better?

I've seen CY Zenoah and occasionally Solo? I saw a Marder i was interested in yesterday, when i asked what engine was in it i was told it was an "FG Team engine" of which i've never heard of, and can't seem to find anything out about them?
The car it's in is virtually brand new, with about one tank of fuel going through it..

Any help on this one please? ever heard of it/is it any good?
Thanks
James

Fg did what a lot of manufactures do and relabeled their motors on the older FG's. They now keep the Zen stickers on the motors knowing it sells the product with a good named motor. You will have to ask the seller what the side of the head on the motor says. It will be stamped with the name Chung Yang (CY) or Zenoah.

Thanks for the almost instant reply :cool2:
I think this forum may be of great use to me in the near future!
I've asked seller exactly what you've said, hopefully i'll get a sensible reply!
Cheers

Ahh i've seen that sticker a few times, before i was looking seriously at buying one, just couldn't have taken any notice of it!
Thanks a lot for your help

Last edited:
I have 2 FG Engines that are Solos. The FG Solo will be made in Germany and have that on them. And each motor has a serial number. I still have to open one up to see how the heads and such bolt up, but I will say these solos scream. I've always run cy or zenoahs before (I some other motor in the Dynamic but can't remember what it was off hand. I could call the guy up that owns it now)

Sorry thought i would revive my old thread instead of making more mess...