Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Large Scale RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Large Scale RC!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

FG Receiver box.

Discussion in 'General Large Scale RC' started by atom3624, May 10, 2010.

  1. atom3624

    atom3624 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8,134
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Cold, wet, windy St Helens, U.K.
    Just curious.
    How do most people cut the receiver box?
    I've got a few - new and used. One used has holes either end of the lower half - no grommets - and another has a slot at the top of the lower half in the middle.
    How do you cut your box.

    I'm about to rewire mine - using a new one - and am open to ideas.
    Thanks.
    Al.
     
  2. BrawnFG

    BrawnFG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    I've cut slots either side of the aft mounting hole so that I can poke the wires up from below. I just fill around the wires with silicone to seal it.

    DSCF3561.jpg
     
  3. Trebor

    Trebor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    manchester...UK
    Alan you may need one the size of a shoe box to fit all your wires:w00t:

    K....
     
  4. atom3624

    atom3624 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8,134
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Cold, wet, windy St Helens, U.K.
    Keith, that's what I'm afraid of!!
    At least with the Spektrum Rx, the failsafe is built in, so there's one lot of wires I can 'junk'.
    I did get the Killer Bee v2S.5 as well - buzzer and light - work well!!
    Stressful day today, so steered well clear of the beast.
    Al.
     
  5. Bigger the Better

    Bigger the Better LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I cut the hole a bit bigger and ran an old HPI shock shaft boot out the hole. It pinched the boot keeping it a bit more weather resistant.
     
  6. sperera

    sperera Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Melbourne
    I cut mine in the same spot as Brawn, I don't worry about a grommer, i got foam padding in mine top and bottom so no dirt/dust etc can get in........or out