FG Receiver box.

Discussion in 'General Large Scale RC' started by atom3624, May 10, 2010.

  1. atom3624

    atom3624 LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Cold, wet, windy St Helens, U.K.
    Just curious.
    How do most people cut the receiver box?
    I've got a few - new and used. One used has holes either end of the lower half - no grommets - and another has a slot at the top of the lower half in the middle.
    How do you cut your box.

    I'm about to rewire mine - using a new one - and am open to ideas.
    Thanks.
    Al.
     
  2. BrawnFG

    BrawnFG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    I've cut slots either side of the aft mounting hole so that I can poke the wires up from below. I just fill around the wires with silicone to seal it.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Trebor

    Trebor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    manchester...UK
    Alan you may need one the size of a shoe box to fit all your wires:w00t:

    K....
     
  4. atom3624

    atom3624 LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Cold, wet, windy St Helens, U.K.
    Keith, that's what I'm afraid of!!
    At least with the Spektrum Rx, the failsafe is built in, so there's one lot of wires I can 'junk'.
    I did get the Killer Bee v2S.5 as well - buzzer and light - work well!!
    Stressful day today, so steered well clear of the beast.
    Al.
     
  5. Bigger the Better

    Bigger the Better LSF Plus Member
    PLUS member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I cut the hole a bit bigger and ran an old HPI shock shaft boot out the hole. It pinched the boot keeping it a bit more weather resistant.
     
  6. sperera

    sperera Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Melbourne
    I cut mine in the same spot as Brawn, I don't worry about a grommer, i got foam padding in mine top and bottom so no dirt/dust etc can get in........or out
     
Loading...