Fuel

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul Davis

Hi i'm new to this Forum, so hello i'm Paul. I have just purchased a second hand Smartech Uno with no instructions or anything. I am new to the petrol scene as an owner of 5 Tamiya vintage cars.

I was hoping that someone could give me a clue as to what fuel to put in my Smartech? I really have no clue! do I have to pre mix with oil?

Also if anyone can point me in the right direction where I could get some instructions please would be amazing.

Any hints tips or advice would be gratefully received.

Cheers Paul

Yeah you have to premix 25:1 with two-stroke oil. You can get it pretty much anywhere, the same stuff you use for weedeaters, but you need double the amount it says, so if it says "makes 1 gallon" you'll need to add two to 1 gallon of gas to get 25:1 mix.

Its tough to say because fuel quality octane is different even if its 87. For example; 93 in CA is like 87 in LA. Different companies put additives that affect performance.

My recommendation is start w 87 and do 25:1, just buy a little, and see how it runs by the sound and spark plug color.

This considering all other are met, good compression, strong spark, clean air filter, no binding of diffs etc.

For a used engine, stick w synthetic 2 stroke oil, no cheap auto parts 2 stroke oil, or those little bottles sold at gas stations.

This question is sort of related to this thread so I figure I'll put it here.

I'm from the RC heli world and the gasser guys have been starting to use Coleman lantern fuel for their gasoline helicopters instead of pump gas. I guess they feel that it's more consistant in it's mixture of additives (I think it also has less additives) and it doesn't have the same gasoline smell.

So my question is, are any of you running coleman fuel in your motors?