Help!!! I keep sheering the drive shaft on the clutch bell

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agar205

I there i am new to the FG scene but have had many years in the RC world.
I purchased a second hand Marder and proceeded to re build it (as it was in a state) many many hours later and she is a joy to behold. However the only problem i have now is the clutch bell (on my third one now) keeps sheering where the shaft meets the bell housing. Any Ideas??? or has anybody seen this before. Cheers:detective:

Thanks for the speedy reply, unfortunatly if you mean steel drive gear then a steel one is fitted already, but if you mean a (new clutch bell part other than a 6049 ???) please explain. Just to clarify the clutch bell is shearing from the shaft that the steel gear is placed on. Just to clarify i have a limited slip diff and dog bone drive shafts. could it be a temprature thing as the clutch might be slipping a little causing slight blue tinge/discolour.

I have never had that problem. What motor and gearing? They are steel right?
The only thing that would make sense would be the clutch is not disengaging after throttle down and when you are landing hard the force of the landing is going through the tires then the gears and ends up at the bell shaft to bell weld and that is the weak link. Keep us updated you have a new one for me. Are you using the stock plastic gear plate. I would think if it was a heat issue the plate would melt at the bearing too.
The other thing I was thinking is if the shaft is not straight somehow in the gear plate set up it could be running crooked and the shoes are engaging on one side first each time bending it back and forth.