help please engine tuning

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simon67

I am a bit worried about my low end needle and was wondering if any one could tell me how many quarters their low end needle is out.
My engine is a 29cc fuelie.
I just don't want to damage a new engine, it runs great and is just run in.
It has been used once after run in with some full throttle, but if i turn the low end needle any further back the car wont keep a continuous idle.
I've tried to turn it back and compensate with the idle screw, but the idle screw hasent got enough compensation, if you get my drifft.
My low end screw is at ten past and if i turn it fully in, it goes just between 2/3 and 3/4 to ten too.
I hope i'm making sence and sorry for any bad spelling.:rolleyes:

Last edited:
Hi Simon, I've no experience with a 29 Fuelie, but generally when in doubt, go to the factory settings which are roughly 1.25 out from closed, both LOW and HIGH - check out other threads for details.

This won't make much difference as every carb and engine is very slightly different.

CAREFULLY close in the screws - screw clockwise - until JUST closed - be very careful as too much force will damage the carb.

Use this as a reference point and carefully count the turns out.

After this you should always be close - they're all very close to the same no matter which relatively standard engine it is.

After this, search the forum for tuning threads - there are some good ones.
After you run it for a while, simply take a look at the spark plug colour.

Have fun!!
Al.

Hi Simon, I've no experience with a 29 Fuelie, but generally when in doubt, go to the factory settings which are roughly 1.25 out from closed, both LOW and HIGH - check out other threads for details.

This won't make much difference as every carb and engine is very slightly different.