Noob Mistake - Pretty sure I seized engine!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aelliott70

I'm a total noob to 5th scale (and gas engines). I haven't had an RC car in 30 years. I Wanted to get back into it, and why not go with something I've always wanted, a large scale gas RC, so I went with a DBXL 2.0. I stumbled on a good deal on a preowned rig at my local hobby shop, and pulled the trigger. I've been driving it for about 3 months without issue. I never even tuned it. The mechanic at the hobby shop tuned it for me, but that was in August, and using the VP premixed fuel. I've since switched to pump fuel, and its gotten COLD. The engine started running like crap, and a lot of smoke. Figured I have to learn sooner or later to tune my car.

I started by starting the car the way it was on a stand, and letting it sit there and idle for 10 minutes to get warmed up. Shut it down, then reset everything to factory. Turned the Idle screw all the way out until it barely touched the throttle. Reset H/L back to factory, and pulled the starter.

So glad it was on a stand. The wheels immediately took off spinning! When I hit the breaks, the car stalled and shut down. I turned the Idle screw in a turn, then repeated. This repeated until I got the idle in far enough it didn't turn the engine off when I hit the breaks (but wheels still spun at start). Then I started increasing the LOW (richer) until I got the idle where I wanted. Wheels not spinning at startup, and rich enough it would idle about 20-30sec then shut off, unless I gave it some gas.