Oil, gas mix Ratio

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larcor69

I sure this is an old question, I went looking for something similar, back into 2016
What ratio is everyone using, I just watched a video from obr, about breaking in a new engine, they are saying 28:1, that's like 5oz. To a gallon roughly, I have run gas boats for years always used 8oz to a gallon of gas, also I have always used Amsoil Dominator oil.
I am sure boats are cars are totally different, boats are run wide open continuesly, as cars are up and down with the rpms, I am new to running a gas large scale, so I am trying to learn what I can, Thanks.

Yup, I do the same also. 24:1 break-in & 28:1 after that. Also make sure to use good quality oil from a motorcycle shop, not a lawn care shop.
I noted as I have half a quart of Amsoil Dominator oil, is this good for car engines or should I go with something else?

Yup, I do the same also. 24:1 break-in & 28:1 after that. Also make sure to use good quality oil from a motorcycle shop, not a lawn care shop.
Yup, DEFINITELY USE PROPER MOTORCYCLE/MX/ECT GRADE OIL!!!!!!!!!!!!! IVE SEEN SO MANY PEOPLE JUST USE SH!TTY GRADE OIL BECUASE ITS "CHEAP" AND THEN COMPLAIN ABOUT IT HAVING ENGINE PROBLEMS WHEN THEY COULD HAVE JUST SPENT A FEW BUCKS MORE AND GOT PROPER OIL!!!!!!!!!!!! BELIEVE ME, I WAS 1 OF EM!
I noted as I have half a quart of Amsoil Dominator oil, is this good for car engines or should I go with something else?
Amsoil Dominator is amungst the best oils ?? just make sure it's actually for 2 strokes lol

I sure this is an old question, I went looking for something similar, back into 2016
What ratio is everyone using, I just watched a video from obr, about breaking in a new engine, they are saying 28:1, that's like 5oz. To a gallon roughly, I have run gas boats for years always used 8oz to a gallon of gas, also I have always used Amsoil Dominator oil.