Tools?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matt52

Hi, im new to 1/5 scale and would like more information on what tools i need to maintain my r/c, looking for links to webistes, looking for price quality etc. any info really would be helpfull

hey there welcome to the forum im not sure what use it will be but for my fg touring car i've bought a number of different tools packs of spanners different screw driver sets, just bought an electric hand screwdriver so good to use gets in all the little places thats hard to get screws out. sorry if its not much help just thought id say hi n say what i use mainly

I would say a good quality set of allen keys as cheap ones will round and destroy grub screws in no time.

a small spanner set...5mm-13mm

good quality screwdriver set...remember to check philips head or posidrive heads...use the correct one.

some good pliers/snips etc will also come in handy

a 1/4" socket set is good too..

a huge hammer and bit lump of wood...(great for straightening alloy when it bends)

thats a basic tool kit and should keep you going ...but you will no doubt find more and more other tools that will be handy and it can be as addictive as the cars themselves

also depends what kind of bolts is on your model dude, example, ive switched some of my standard hex bolts over to to torx bolts for the extra strength when fastening & less chance of of stripping them.

but as others have said.. for the least you gunna want:

Hex set
socket set
spark plug socket piece (or spanner / adj. spanner)
thread lock (a must!)
screwdriver(s)

your best bet fella, see what size nuts/bolts your model uses (will be around 4 or 5 different sizes at most) then get the tools you need for those sizes :)

but like i say, torx bolts are the nutz for places where you want/need the extra strength, ie: engine mounts / diff holders etc :)