Upgrading stock 26cc topend

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Danrox90

Hi guys I'm wanting to upgrade my stock cy 26 cc topend and I'm wondering what top end its are available, I think it is a 2 bolt engine so would it only match 2 bolt top end kits? I see that most top end kits don't come with the crank but his one does http://www.davesmotors.com/ca486dd312.html why is that? And can I only put cy topend kits on it because it is a cy engine.
Thanks for info im new to all this.

Hi guys I'm wanting to upgrade my stock cy 26 cc topend and I'm wondering what top end its are available, I think it is a 2 bolt engine so would it only match 2 bolt top end kits? I see that most top end kits don't come with the crank but his one does http://www.davesmotors.com/ca486dd312.html why is that? And can I only put cy topend kits on it because it is a cy engine.
Thanks for info im new to all this.

Your stock motor is: 34mm bore + 28mm stroke = 25.4cc
As looker2756 mentioned his kit will be easier to do as you won't have to pull the bottom end apart. The kit he pointed out is basically 2 sizes bigger bore. The kit you were looking at is one size bigger bore and a longer stroke. The end result is they both have the same cc of displacement. The kit you had picked out might have a tiny bit more low end but I doubt you would notice. Go the cheap/easier route.

Firstly thanks heaps for you help guys, and what does looker2756 mean by making sure the crankshaft bearings are okay, would I have to take the engine apart before I buy the top end ? And when I upgrade it would I need to break the engine In all over again and would I need to change the stock carb settings?
Thanks heaps

Check for play in the bearings by moving the flywheel up and sown & moving the clutch up and down.
Excessive play indicates failing crank shaft bearings, and will need to be addressed if you find it.