Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Large Scale RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Large Scale RC!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Wonky ignition

Discussion in 'Redcat Racing Rampage' started by RC_Budman, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. RC_Budman

    RC_Budman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I recently purchased a Redcat Ramapge XR and as I am going through the break in process my ignition coil kept failing. At first I just bought a new coil and it fixed the problem but then the next day it went out again. I figured out that I could solve the problem by removing the flywheel casing and then brushing off the magnet and putting it all back together. This only solves the problem temporarily (a day or so). Is there a way to make it so I don't have to mess with my flywheel every time i want to run my car? or should I just get a new flywheel?
     
  2. Paul G

    Paul G Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Are you sure it's the coil? Check power switch and if you have a kill switch check settings in remote. I had a problem that I thought was the coil too. Turns out the switch on the remote was set for a 3 position in stead of 2 position and could not fire up. Not even sure I know how that happened but it did and problem solved. Sometimes power switch goes bad to so that would make your kill switch get weird too. Just a thought here.
     
    #2 Paul G, Apr 20, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
    RC_Budman likes this.
  3. Paul G

    Paul G Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Power switch on receiver is what I'm referring too. Good luck
     
    #3 Paul G, Apr 20, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  4. oskygt

    oskygt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    If you have a kill switch, check the settings, also verify that the coil is spaced correctly. Use a card to set the spacing, good luck and don't give up, you'll get it right.
     
  5. RC_Budman

    RC_Budman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    I do not have a kill switch just an engine stop button which makes me think its the coil. But I will check the power switch to the receiver. Quick question; if I don't have power to my receiver will my car not spark? Because I think it will.

    Thank you for your input!!!
    RC Budman
     
    #5 RC_Budman, Apr 30, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  6. Paul G

    Paul G Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    It you have a kill switch no it will not. If no kill switch I do believe that it will fire up. Bad engine stop obviously will not allow you to kill the engine. Not sure if stating though. Don't grab the plug wire to kill engine. It will shock you. Just cover the exhaust up and your engine will shut down if you find you have that issue.
     
    #6 Paul G, Apr 30, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  7. RC_Budman

    RC_Budman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car will stop every time once its running. I'm pretty sure it's the ignition coil or flywheel because I get no spark even when I change out my spark plug. I just ordered a new flywheel so we'll see if that's the problem. I think debris keeps getting in the way of the magnet on the flywheel or something... I also noticed that my flywheel is slightly scratched up, maybe from a rock. Anyways thank you for your input!

    RC Budman
     
  8. RC_Budman

    RC_Budman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have set the spacing properly and I do not have a kill switch.