30 degree north 29cc bws racing olimat silenced pipe

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

romper4444

Hey there just wanted to inform everyone of my experience with the bws racing 29cc engine that came in my 30 dnt truck (losi 5t clone) , truck itself has been awesome, bought the roller from KM/Rovan site. No issues there except he sent the wrong servos, but helped me figure it out(servo dimensions matter in these trucks)
I'm guessing I got about 5 tanks of gas if that thru the motor before it lost Compression. It's down to about 50psi. Started getting hard to start, wouldn't idle well. Haven't pulled it apart yet to see what actually happened if anything. Engine did have great power while it ran. Motor had 1 tank of break in, was tuned perfectly(I'm a Mechanic) ran an Olimat silenced pipe, which to my surprise actually made less power than the included 30 deg North unsilenced pipe. That pipe was just way to loud so I went with the olimat, which was nice and quiet, but I figured for $400 I'd at least maintain the same power and be quieter. No such luck, So I don't recommend that pipe unless your only concerned about being quiet. I also tried the bolt on rovan silencer on stock pipe and it hardly made a difference if anyone was looking to try one(they also scrape the ground on full suspension compression)
Any advice on what motor under $300 to try next? I'm thinking the zenoah g320 is prolly my best bet, but I'd kinda like to try the 30.5 or 32cc rovan engine and experiment with some porting myself to see what I can get out of it. I would like more rpm and the ability to pull a 20t pinion as I find the truck is too slow(19t is stock)
Any and all input welcome.

16957061565971294763203821715475.jpg

16957061937435482093686733910691.jpg

16957062522171841117624910778907.jpg