Can’t seem to get my baja started

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carnious

Reading the Rules!
Got it used. Tried multiple times to get it started while having pull start problems. But even when I have my pull start working properly, I can’t seem to get it running. I’ve had it idle for 5-10 seconds twice, but stalls shortly after.
Is there something obviously wrong? My spark plug sparks. But could it still be bad?

Well I try and throttle up as it’s idling to keep it going. But eventually it just dies the same. But I am able to rev it a little bit at the beginning.

What do you mean by tick over to low?

Next time I run it I’ll try and take a video.

Hmm still don’t know what that tick over means lol

It use to run years ago. It was my dads. Has been sitting. But ever since I got it and tried running it it’s only idled a couple times and stalled

Well I’m no expert but I just tried again, couldn’t get it to idle. But I took the carb off and everything seems clean and nice. Air fileter looks good. Fuel lines seem great.
Anyway, I took a video of me trying to start it. But I’m hoping it’s just the spark plug which I have one on the way.

Here’s the video

I'm thinking it flooded. Pull the spark plug . Is it soaking wet ? You should only have the choke on till the engine pops once , then turn the choke off .

Your gut tells you it’s flooded? It is !
The best way to in flood the engine is to disconnect the carb yes remove it from the engine let it lay back. Then with a new plug for a wtf moment pull the cord. It should run wide open due to amount of air it’s pulling in and that will quickly burn up the remaining fuel. It will only last about 3-5 seconds so no worries. Once burnt fuel is gone reconnect carb and begin as you should.
Prime 3 or 4x
Choke 2-3 soft pulls the. Switch to norm and pull another 1-3
If you continue to pull you will continue to push gas into engine..