Fuel leak?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparks

Hi all , Im new to this petrol model . I’ve just fuelled it up and it ran great for about 5 minutes but then it seemed to sort of struggle to go , so I took the body off to see what the problem might be . There was quite a lot of fuel coming out of the black rubber cap on the fuel tank where the fuel line & breather pipe enter. This cant be right ? Do I need a new tank or can I buy this rubber grommet anywhere ? Thanks

Attachments

• 977CA0A9-74E5-4E77-A137-6ED206034492.jpeg
    977CA0A9-74E5-4E77-A137-6ED206034492.jpeg
    213.7 KB · Views: 12
Should just need a new grommet, but I doubt that's your running issue. Just makes a mess. Fuel lines all ok, nothing broke off in the tank? Primer bulb full of fuel?
Hi thanks for the reply , no the primer build wasn’t full , what could cause this ? I’ve found the grommet for sale online so I’ll order a new one

Check out your fuel lines make sure they didnt rot off in the tank. Could also be a carb issue, or a cracked/warped intake. How old is your rc?
I was told it’s about 5 years old . I’ve just checked and the black fuel line was pulled up and the filter was at the top of the tank ! I’ll try it again later , but I think I’ll change the grommet and the fuel lines .

Well if your bulbs not full and your leaking fuel out the grommet, it can cause the issue. You getting to much air in from the gaps the fuel is spilling out of. Replace the grommets on the tank,make sure lines and fuel filter are clean + breather hole is open and not blocked.
Then let us know how it's doing.

I was told it’s about 5 years old . I’ve just checked and the black fuel line was pulled up and the filter was at the top of the tank ! I’ll try it again later , but I think I’ll change the grommet and the fuel lines .