Just a sperm head!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dogfish

Hi everybody,
This is my first posting on this, or any, RC vehicle forum. If you were to compare RC vehicle modelling experience to human development, I'd be at sperm level! I'm a retired engineer/creator/innovator in Essex, UK and I've just inherited a HPI Baja 5B 23cc from a friend. I'm totally gobsmacked by the design, and quality of engineering and want to learn more! I realize there are many versions of the 5B produced and am in a fix knowing where to start. It came to me just as the car & TF40 controller. I'm waiting for a battery charging cable to be delivered at the moment, so I can charge the lifeless batteries. I've read that the existing battery pack could be 5 cell 6V, but would that be NiMh? I already have a Pro-Peak Prodigy Charger that I can use, but what charge/discharge parameters to set? Would there be an identification plate anywhere that would tell me the model/version number, together with the year of manufacture? So many questions and so few answers! I'm all ears to any suggestions, so any advice would be well received!

Attachments

• Baja 5B 01.jpg
    Baja 5B 01.jpg
    231.6 KB · Views: 17
If the battery has been sitting for any amount of time, it's likely junk and needs replaced. As well as going Iverson the carb and fuel lines and make sure that's all in order. Also if it doesn't have a kill switch buy one and get it fitted before you run it.
Welcome to the nut house.