MCD Shock Absorber Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jim McNasty

Hello there, I'm now to this forum so please be nice!

Im kinda new to the 1/5th scene, Ive had my Race Runner Evo 3 for about 9 months now and i'm utterly and hopelessly hooked!
Ive been slowly teaching myself how to service the beast myself and so far no major disasters.

one issue that is bugging the hell outta me is my shocks keep leaking, Ive replaced the air seals twice now and fully inspected the shocks for damage.
Almost immediately after i re-fill them, oil is present at the top where the rose joint meets the alloy top. After a few driving sessions, the springs and surrounding components are covered in oil.
Its not one or two either, its all four are leaking.
How can i fix this permanently?

I have devised a rather crude solution by making my own would be gaskets out of duct tape. i simply cut a length of duct tape, fold it over on itself, place the alloy washer from the top of the shocks and cut around it leaving about half an inch of space. Stuff that in the top and reassemble.
It does work for a while but obviously I'd like a more permanent fix!

Any help would be great!!

J

Best advice would be to ring Stevo ar Ross mods and ask him. Are you aware that there is a new track round your neck of the woods if you ever fancy racing?

Have a look at team5hite.com for more details, that where all the uk club and national racing info is.

Im currently in the process of getting my driving licence so i can get involved with racing, so yes i do fancy racing :D lol

Thanks for the tip, I'll give him a ring.
I may just end up replacing all 4 shocks but at nearly 60 quid each, its an expense i'd like to avoid if possible!!

Ahhhh, I never though of that lol
Ive tried joining 3 or 4 times now and just got nothing back, i use this name for everything to aid my failing memory, i never thought it might cause offense to the mods.